Newbery Award

Newbery Medal

Designed by René Paul Chambellan

Bronze, 1929

Kerlan Collection, Children's Literature Research Collections

University of Minnesota Libraries

Novelist and Dartmouth English professor Eric P. Kelly received this Newbery Medal—the eighth one ever to be awarded—for The Trumpeter of Krakow, a work of historical fiction set in 15th-century Poland. Named for John Newbery, the pioneering 18th-century English publisher of juvenile literature, the Newbery Medal was established by the American Library Association in 1921 as children's literature's counterpart to the Pulitzer Prize. A companion award for illustration, the Caldecott Medal, was first conferred in 1938. The 2004 winner was The Tale of Despereaux: Being the Story of a Mouse, a Princess, Some Soup, and a Spool of Thread by Kate DiCamillo. The images below are a selection of covers from the many languages the book has been translated to.